Prof. Suwan Jayasinghe

BioPhysics Group
Department of Mechanical Engineering
University College London

Prof. Jayasinghe started his academic career at Brunel University in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. At Brunel he obtained his B.Eng (Hon) and M.Eng degrees and subsequently joined the Department of Materials Sciences at Queen Mary, University of London, where he earned his PhD. In the duration of his PhD, his research findings were awarded two top medals (the De Montfort and the Leonardo Da Vinci) presented to him at the House of Parliament in March and December respectively. Following his PhD he completed a post-doc and was later awarded a five year Robert’s Fellowship funded by RCUK. In the first year of his fellowship, Jayasinghe pioneered the ability to electrospray and electrospin living cells and whole organisms. These finding have received wide press coverage through learned society periodical, popular scientific press and television interviews. In 2006 Jayasinghe joined the Department of Mechanical Engineering at UCL. In 2009 he was awarded highest honour bestowed to a younger aerosol scientist (SMOLUCHOWSKI Award) by the Gesellschaft für Aerosolforschung (GAeF). In 2010 The Institute of Materials, Mining and Minerals awarded him with the prestigious Sir George Beilby FRS memorial medal and prize for his seminal contributions to healthcare materials. Jayasinghe has published over 120 scientific papers and is at present fine tuning the discovered platform technologies for their wider utility in basic biology laboratories to their evaluation in the clinic.


Ashok Kumar Ganguli

Professor of Chemistry, IIT Delhi
Founding Director of Institute of Nano Science and Technology in Mohali


Dr. Ganguli is the founding Director of Institute of Nano Science and Technology in Mohali and also Professor of Chemistry, IIT Delhi. His areas of interest are in the design of nanostructured materials for energy and environmental applications and also high temperature superconductivity. He has published over 250 papers and has filed four patents.  Dr. Ganguli obtained his Ph.D in Solid State Chemistry from IISc, Bangalore, and then worked in Dupont (USA), Ames Laboratory (US DOE), USA and EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland. He is a recipient of the National Award of Nano Science and Nanotechnology given by DST, Government of India. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, London, Indian Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences, India.  

Dr. Ganguli is also a very keen speaker for science education in schools and colleges and is spearheading an Outreach program at INST, Mohali for rural school students in remote parts of India in which he has visited more than 250 schools in the last two years.

IITD Website

INST Website: